Nous utilisons la biodiversité comme indice de la santé environnementale, mais dans les différents domaines de la science de la biodiversité, l’équité et l’inclusion font toujours défaut.

Équité

Le CSBQ s’engage a créer un environnement équitable, c’est-à-dire dans lequel les biais, le harcèlement, et la discrimination sont identifiés et remédiés de manière active et continue, et où chaque individu est traité de manière juste dans la reconnaissance de ses caractériques particulières. Un des objectifs du plan d’action ÉDI est de supprimer les obstacles à la participation aux activités du CSBQ, à l’accès à ses ressources, et à l’implication dans son fonctionnement.

Diversité

Le CSBQ s’engage à valoriser la diversité de ses membres et de son personnel, et à augmenter la participation des membres issus de minorités sous-représentées; la diversité représente l’ensemble des conditions de vie, des modes d’expression, et des vécus, et s’exprime au niveau individuel sous de nombreuses formes incluant (sans se limiter) le genre et l’identité genrée, la situation socio-économique, la race, le statut d’immigration, l’orientation sexuelle, la culture, la langue, la religion et le handicap. Le CSBQ reconnaît que l’ensemble de ses membres a un rôle à jouer dans l’augmentation et la valorisation de la diversité.

Inclusion

Le CSBQ s’engage à développer un environnement inclusif, en développant des initiatives actives et délibérées pour garantir un environnement respectueux des différences individuelles, dans lequel les pratiques d’exclusion n’ont pas leur place; le CSBQ veut garantir que l’ensemble des membres soient en sécurité et qu’ils se sentent accompagnés et soutenus afin de favoriser leur épanouissement professionnel.

Définitions importantes

Intersectionnalité et facteurs croisés

Une personne s’identifiant à plus d’un de ces groupes – par exemple, une femme en situation de handicap – peut faire l’objet de discriminations ou d’oppressions multiples, ce que l’on appelle intersectionnalité ou facteurs croisés (voir notamment la définition de « facteurs croisés » de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada). 

Biais Inconscient

Le biais inconscient est une attitude, un stéréotype, une motivation ou une hypothèse de nature implicite qui peut se manifester à l’insu de la personne qui affiche ce préjugé ou indépendamment de son contrôle ou de son intention. Le préjugé inconscient est le fruit de l’expérience de vie des individus et nul n’en est à l’abri. Tout le monde a des préjugés implicites ou inconscients. À titre d’exemple, mentionnons les préjugés fondés sur le sexe, la culture, la race ou l’origine ethnique, l’âge, la langue et les institutions. Au fil du temps, les décisions qui s’appuient sur des préjugés inconscients peuvent avoir un effet cumulatif qui finit par influer grandement sur la vie et l’égalité des chances des personnes concernées.

Plan d’Action du CSBQ

Cette section présente notre déclaration d’engagement et les lignes directrices du plan d’action ÉDI.

Déclaration d’engagement

 

Le Centre de la Science de la Biodiversité du Québec (CSBQ)

affirme qu’une communauté scientifique construite sur des valeurs d’Équité, de Diversité, et d’Inclusion (ÉDI) bénéficie à la qualité de vie des membres, à la qualité de la recherche et facilite les retombées et l’impact des travaux de recherche,

reconnaît que le milieu de la recherche présente des obstacles systémiques qui empêchent ou ralentissent la participation des membres de minorités sous-représentés, visibles et non-visibles, notamment des Autochtones, des personnes LGBTQ2S+, des femmes, et des personnes en situation de handicap,

s’engage à soutenir de façon prioritaire les valeurs d’ÉDI comme étant bénéfiques en soi, et comme facteurs d’excellence.


En appui à cette déclaration d’engagement, le CSBQ

souscrit à la Charte Dimensions des trois organismes subventionnaires et en applique les principes dans l’organisation d’évènements et dans l’évaluation des dossiers de financement,

établit un Comité aviseur ÉDI composé de co-chercheurs, de représentant·e·s des étudiant·e·s, des post-doctorant·e·s, et des professionnel·le·s de recherche, et de représentant·e·s des institutions, pour coordonner et soutenir les actions EDI,

consulte sa communauté sur une base régulière, afin d’obtenir, dans le respect de la vie privée, de l’information quantitative et qualitative sur la situation et les perceptions des enjeux ÉDI au sein du CSBQ

adopte un plan d’action ÉDI, basé sur les recommandations de groupes de travail ou de forums ouverts, travaillant conjointement avec le Comité aviseur ÉDI,

investit une partie de son financement pour soutenir la mise en place des objectifs d’ÉDI qu’il s’est fixé et pour garantir la viabilité des composantes ÉDI de l’ensemble de ses initiatives,

adopte un code de conduite pour l’ensemble des évènements organisés ou financés par le CSBQ, incluant des mécanismes de signalement anonymes,

fixe, à la suite de la première consultation ÉDI, des cibles en matière de représentativité à la fois dans le leadership du centre et dans les projets financés,,

communique sur son site internet l’état des lieux en termes d’ÉDI, et les cibles fixées.

Démarche pour le plan d’action ÉDI

En soutien à sa déclaration d’engagement en Équité, Diversité et Inclusion (ÉDI), le Centre de la Science de la Biodiversité du Québec (CSBQ) mettra en place des instances et processus spécifiques. L’objectif de cette section est de proposer une structure pour l’encadrement des activités ÉDI, et de tracer les grandes lignes d’un plan d’action ÉDI qui sera rédigé au cours de l’année 2021. Pour des définitions utilisées par le CSBQ, voir le début de cette page.

Structure pour les activités ÉDI

Le CSBQ encourage l’ensemble de sa communauté à identifier des enjeux en ÉDI, et établit un support institutionnel pour faciliter et soutenir les initiatives visant à y répondre; ces initiatives forment la base du plan d’action ÉDI. La gouvernance des enjeux d’ÉDI implique deux groupes: le comité aviseur en ÉDI, qui coordonne les activités et chantiers et conseille la direction du centre; et le forum ÉDI, qui est ouvert à l’ensemble du CSBQ et qui offre un espace pour incuber des initiatives, exprimer des idées ou des frustrations.

Le comité aviseur ÉDI est formé d’un·e représentant·e des co-chercheur·es, d’un·e représentant·e de la communauté étudiante, d’un·e représentant·e des post-doctorants, d’un·e représentant·e des professionnels de recherche, et de représentant·es des bureaux ÉDI des principales institutions partenaires (McGill, U. de Montréal, U. de Sherbrooke, U. Laval). Les représentant·es du centre sont nommé·es ou élu·es pour des mandats de deux ans.
Le mandat du comité aviseur en ÉDI consiste en:

1. la production d’une recommandation de plan d’action ÉDI (2021), lequel sera par la suite co-développé avec la direction du centre
2. l’identification des enjeux et des meilleures pratiques d’ÉDI
3. la proposition de cibles en matière d’ÉDI et leur mise à jour (une fois par année)
4. la production de recommandations pour la direction du centre (si besoin, pendant les 3 rencontres annuelles)
5. la production de recommandations de révisions du plan d’action ÉDI (une fois par année)
6. la proposition de groupes de travail au sein du forum ÉDI (si besoin, pendant les 3 rencontres annuelles)
7. la réception et le suivi des incidents via edi@qcbs.ca 
8. la présentation d’un état des lieux en ÉDI lors du symposium annuel, sur la base des résultats du sondage annuel

Le comité se rencontre une fois par session, et une fois de plus en marge du symposium annuel (décembre).

Le forum ÉDI regroupe l’ensemble des initiatives venant des membres ou proposées par le comité aviseur, et est ouvert à l’ensemble des membres du centre. Il se réunit une fois par année lors du symposium annuel et les différents groupes de travail se forment, se réunissent et se dissolvent au besoin. Chaque groupe de travail du forum ÉDI comptera un membre du comité aviseur pour faciliter le transfert d’information. Le forum ÉDI sera chargé de la mise à jour du code de conduite pour chaque symposium annuel, en collaboration avec le comité d’organisation.

 

Lignes directrices du plan d’action ÉDI

État des lieux: Le CSBQ va effectuer un sondage auprès de l’ensemble de ses membres, pour (i) effectuer un état des lieux sur la diversité des membres, (ii) identifier les problématiques soulevées par les membres en terme d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, et (iii) fournir l’information pour établir des cibles ÉDI. La participation (anonyme) au sondage sera obligatoire (à l’inscription au CSBQ et une fois par année par la suite) et conditionnera l’accès au financement. Les résultats (cibles fixées / situation réelle) seront mis à jour sur le site internet du CSBQ et présentés lors du symposium annuel.

Questions prioritairesEn parallèle à la rédaction du plan d’action ÉDI initial, le CSBQ initiera des actions sur trois aspects prioritaires:

  • Consultation des membres: afin de favoriser l’implication des membres dans le forum ÉDI, le CSBQ utilisera les canaux de communication habituels (infolettre, site internet, réseaux sociaux) pour (i) informer de la mise en place du Comité aviseur ÉDI et de la déclaration d’engagement et (ii) solliciter les réactions “à vif” sur les sujets prioritaires.
  • Formalisation de la gouvernance autour des enjeux ÉDI: dans le cadre de la consultation des membres, le comité aviseur produira un premier document articulant la structure de gouvernance pour clarifier le mode de communication entre les membres, le Forum ÉDI, le comité aviseur, et la direction du centre. Ce document visera notamment à encadrer l’exercice de rédaction du plan d’action ÉDI.
  • Modes d’évaluation: le comité aviseur produira en priorité une série de recommandations sur l’évaluation des demandes de financements venant des co-chercheur·e·s ou des étudiant·e·s, visant à diminuer l’expression des biais implicites. Ces recommandations couvriront une série de pratiques incluant par exemple l’évaluation anonyme, la création de financement dédié au support des objectifs d’ÉDI, notamment pour favoriser la persistance en recherche ou les critères d’évaluation des composantes d’ÉDI dans les  demandes de financement.

Formation: Le CSBQ, à travers des initiatives étudiantes lors du symposium annuel, a déjà effectué un travail de formation et de sensibilisation auprès des membres. Le plan d’action ÉDI contiendra des recommandations sur la formation aux enjeux d’ÉDI;  le comité aviseur pourrait notamment proposer à la direction d’en rendre une partie obligatoire pour les membres impliqués dans le leadership du centre (direction, responsables d’axes, organisateurs d’évènements et de formation, etc) et pour les étudiant·e·s nouvellement membre du CSBQ. Ces formations pourront autant que possible s’appuyer sur les moyens mis en place par les institutions partenaires.

ResSources

Les politiques d'EDI dans les agences gouvernementales

Associations professionnelles

Liens externes vers des associations oeuvrant pour l’ÉDI:

oSTEM – Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (oSTEM) est une société sans but lucratif pour les personnes LGBTQ+ de la communauté scientifique.

Canadian Black Scientist Network – Le Canadian Black Scientists Network existe pour élever, rendre visible, célébrer et connecter les Canadiens noirs dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie, des mathématiques et de la médecine (STEMM).

SCWIST – SCWIST (La Société canadienne des femmes en sciences et technologie) est une société sans but lucratif qui se spécialise dans l’amélioration de la présence et de l’influence des femmes et des filles dans les STIM (sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques) au Canada.

IndigeSTEAM – La mission d’IndigeSTEAM est d’offrir des programmes en STEM/STEAM dirigés par des autochtones et pertinents sur le plan culturel, afin de favoriser un meilleur avenir pour les jeunes autochtones dans le domaine des STEM.

Contactez-nous

Utilisez le formulaire ci-dessous pour enovyer un message à la comité d’ÉDI. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer un courriel directement à edi@qcbs.ca.

Tous les messages envoyés par ce formulaire (ou à edi@qcbs.ca) sont traités de manière confidentielle par le comité aviseur d’ÉDI.

12 + 3 =

We use biodiversity as an index for environmental health, yet when looking at the different fields in biodiversity science, equity and inclusion are still lacking. Let us work together to create an inclusive, diverse and equitable environment for all.

Equity

The QCBS is committed to creating an equitable environment in which bias, harassment, and discrimination are actively and continuously identified and addressed, and in which each individual is treated fairly in accordance with his or her unique characteristics. One of the goals of our EDI plan is to remove barriers to participation in QCBS activities, access to resources, and involvement in its operations.

Diversity

The QCBS is committed to value the diversity of its members and staff, and to increase the participation of members from underrepresented minorities; diversity represents a full range of living conditions, modes of expression, and experiences, and is expressed at the individual level in many forms including (but not limited to) gender and gender identity, socio-economic status, race, immigration status, sexual orientation, culture, language, religion, and disability. The QCBS recognizes that all of its members have a role to play in increasing and valuing diversity.

Inclusion

The QCBS is committed to developing an inclusive environment, taking proactive initiatives to ensure an environment that respects individual differences, where exclusionary practices have no place; the QCBS wants to ensure that all members are safe and feel accompanied and supported in their professional development.

Important Definitions

Intersectionality 

A person who identifies with more than one of these groups – for example, a woman with a disability – may experience multi-faceted discrimination or oppression, which is referred to as intersectionality or intersecting factors (see Women and Gender Equality Canada’s definition of “intersecting factors”).

Unconscious Bias

Unconscious bias is an attitude, stereotype, motivation, or assumption that may manifest itself without the knowledge or control or intent of the person displaying the bias. Unconscious bias is a product of people’s life experiences and no one is immune to it. Everyone has implicit or unconscious bias. Examples include gender, cultural, racial/ethnic, age, language and institutional biases. Over time, decisions based on unconscious biases can have a cumulative effect that ultimately has a significant impact on the lives and opportunities of those involved.

QCBS EDI Plan

This section presents the QCBS declaration of engagement and scaffolding for our current EDI action plan.

Our Declaration of Engagement

 

The Quebec Centre for Biodiversity Science (QCBS)

affirms that a scientific community built on the values of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) benefits the quality of life of members, the quality of research, and facilitates the impact of research,

recognizes that there are systemic barriers in the research environment that prevent or slow the participation of underrepresented, visible and non-visible minorities, including Aboriginal people, LGBTQ2S+ people, women, and people with disabilities,

is fully committed to supporting the values of EDI as a priority, as which are inherently beneficial, and as a factor of excellence.


In support of its declaration of engagement, the QCBS

adheres to the “Dimensions” Charter of the three funding institutions and applies its principles in the organization of events and in the evaluation of funding applications,

established an EDI Advisory Committee composed of co-researchers, student, post-doctoral, and research professional representatives, and institutional representatives, to coordinate and support EDI actions,

consults with the QCBS community on a regular basis to obtain quantitative and qualitative information on the status and perceptions of EDI issues within the QCBS, while respecting privacy,

adopted an EDI action plan, based on the recommendations of working groups or open forums, working in conjunction with the EDI Advisory Committee,

invests a portion of its funding to support the implementation of its EDI objectives and to ensure the sustainability of the EDI components of all its initiatives,

adopted a code of conduct for all QCBS organized or funded events, including anonymous reporting mechanisms,

established, as a result of the first EDI consultation, targets for representation in both the leadership of the Centre and in funded projects,

communicates on its website the status of EDI at the QCBS and of the targets set.

EDI Action Plan outline

Furthermore, in support of its statement of commitment to EDI, the Quebec Biodiversity Science Centre (QCBS) will put in place specific procedures. The purpose of this section is to propose a structure for the supervision of EDI activities, and outline our EDI action plan. For detailed descriptions of the definitions of EDI used at the QCBS, please see the start of this page.

Structure for EDI activities

The QCBS encourages its entire community to identify EDI issues, and establishes institutional support to facilitate and sustain initiatives to address them. These initiatives form the basis of the EDI action plan. The governance of EDI issues involves two groups: the EDI Advisory Committee, which coordinates activities and projects and advises the Centre’s management; and the EDI Forum, which is open to the entire QCBS and provides a space to incubate initiatives, express ideas or frustrations.

The EDI Advisory Committee is made up of a representative of the co-researchers, a representative of the student community, a representative of the post-doctoral fellows, a representative of the research professionals, and representatives of the EDI offices of our main partner institutions (McGill, U. de Montréal, U. de Sherbrooke, U. Laval). Center representatives are appointed or elected for two-year terms.
The mandate of the EDI Advisory Committee is to:

1. Draft a recommended EDI action plan (2021), which will then be co-developed with the Centre’s management
2. Identify EDI issues and best practices
3. Propose EDI targets and update them (once a year)
4. Provide recommendations to center management (if needed, during the 3 annual meetings)
5. Provide recommendations for revisions to the EDI action plan (once a year)
6. Propose working groups within the EDI forum (if needed, during the 3 annual meetings)
7. Receive and track incidents via edi@qcbs.ca 
8. Present an EDI status report at the annual symposium, based on the results of the annual survey.

The committee meets once per session, and once more during the annual symposium (December).

The EDI Forum brings together all initiatives from members or proposed by the Advisory Committee, and is open to all members of the Centre. It meets once a year during the annual symposium and the different working groups form, meet and disband as needed. Each EDI Forum working group will have a member of the Advisory Committee to facilitate the exchange of information. The EDI Forum will be responsible for updating the code of conduct for each annual symposium in collaboration with the organizing committee.

 

Outline of the Action Plan

Baseline Assessment: The QCBS will conduct a survey of its entire membership to (i) assess the diversity of its membership, (ii) identify issues raised by members in terms of equity, diversity and inclusion, and (iii) provide information for setting EDI targets. Anonymous participation in the survey will be mandatory upon registration with QCBS (and annually thereafter), and will be a condition of access to funding. Results (targets set/actual) will be updated on the QCBS website and presented at the annual symposium.

Priority Issues: In conjunction with the drafting of the initial EDI action plan, the QCBS will initiate action on three priority issues:

  • Member consultation: in order to encourage member involvement in the EDI forum, the QCBS will use the usual communication channels (newsletter, website, social networks) to (i) inform members of the establishment of the EDI Advisory Committee and the Declaration of Engagement and (ii) solicit live feedback on priority issues.
  • Formalization of governance around EDI issues: as part of the consultation with members, the Advisory Committee will produce an initial document articulating the governance structure to clarify the mode of communication between members, the EDI Forum, the Advisory Committee and the Centre’s management. This document will be used to guide the drafting of the EDI action plan.
  • Evaluation methods: the advisory committee will produce, as a priority, a series of recommendations on the evaluation of funding applications from co-researchers or students, aimed at reducing the expression of implicit bias. These recommendations will cover a range of practices including, for example, anonymous review, the creation of dedicated funding to support EDI objectives, particularly to encourage persistence in research, and the criteria for evaluating EDI components of funding applications.

Training: The QCBS, through student initiatives at the annual symposium, has already done some training and awareness work with members. The EDI action plan should contain recommendations on training in EDI issues; in particular, the advisory committee could propose to management that part of this training be made mandatory for members involved in the leadership of the center (management, axis leaders, event and training organizers, etc.) and for students who are new to the QCBS. These training sessions will be based as much as possible on the means put in place by partner institutions.

Resources

Previously At the QCBS

(2020) Our code of conduct – QCBS 2020 symposium code of conduct . Ideas for a more general code applying to the QCBS events and not only the annual meeting were also discussed.

 

(2020) The Beagle Team and EDI – The Beagle adds EDI category to posts

 

(2019) The First North American Dialogue on Biocultural Diversity – Promoting exchange and co-creation of knowledge between different actors, the Dialogue contributed to better understandings of the interlinkages between biological and cultural dimensions of diversity, and the implications for resource management and decision-making processes.

 

(2019) QCBS EDI workshop – How can we work towards a fairer academic environment?, with invited guest speaker Madeleine Peters from University of Toronto.

 

(2018) Symposium 2018: Diversity in STEMM – Included talks on diversity in STEMM as well as training opportunities for women in the QCBS network.

stemm

superwoman

Professional Associations

Links to organizations involved in EDI work:

oSTEM – Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (oSTEM) is a non-profit professional association for LGBTQ+ people in the STEM community

Canadian Black Scientist Network – The Canadian Black Scientists Network exists to Elevate, make Visible, Celebrate and Connect Black Canadians in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics & Medicine (STEMM) across sectors.

SCWIST – The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology is a not-for-profit society that specializes in improving the presence and influence of women and girls in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) in Canada

IndigeSTEAM – IndigeSTEAM ‘s mission is the provision of Indigenous-led and culturally-relevant programming in STEM/STEAM to support a better future for Indigenous youth in STEM.

Contact the EDI committee

For more information, you may use the form below to contact us. Alternatively, you may also directly email edi@qcbs.ca with your inquiry.

All messages sent from this form or to edi@qcbs.ca will be confidential, and will only be viewed by the EDI Advisory Committee.

4 + 14 =