Dialogue nord-américain sur la diversité biologique et culturelle

Dialogue nord-américain sur la diversité biologique et culturelle

 

5 au 8 mai 2019, Montréal, Canada

 

Le Dialogue nord-américain sur la diversité bioculturelle eu lieu du 5 au 8 mai 2019. Le Dialogue nord-américain visait à promouvoir l’échange et la co-création de connaissances entre différents acteurs pour contribuer à améliorer la compréhension des liens d’interdépendance entre les dimensions biologiques et culturelles de la diversité, ainsi que leurs implications pour la gestion des ressources et les processus de prise de décision. Le Dialogue visait également à sensibiliser sur le rôle des langues autochtones et des systèmes de gestion et de connaissances autochtones et locales, qui constituent la base d’une diversité culturelle riche et florissante.

Les objectifs du Dialogue nord-américain étaient les suivants:

  • Identifier les liens entre la diversité biologique et culturelle dans la région nord-américaine, ce qui interrompt ces liens, ainsi que les principaux facteurs de perte de diversité biologique et culturelle;
  • Identifier des solutions et des bonnes pratiques, actions et acteurs à divers niveaux pour protéger et restaurer la diversité biologique et culturelle;
  • Examiner les synergies entre les dispositions reliées de la CDB et des conventions de l’UNESCO sur la culture et la nature et les bénéfices potentiels d’une approche intégrée.

 

Programme

Documents

Les documents relatifs au dialogue sont disponibles à la page suivante

Photo

Ci-dessous sont quelques photos. Toutes les photos peuvent êtres accédées en suivent le lien.

Lieu

Le Dialogue nord-américain sur la diversité bioculturelle se tiendra à l’Hôtel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montréal, au 1415 rue St-Hubert, Montréal, Canada. L’Hôtel Gouverneur Hotel a une localisation centrale près de la station de métro Berri-UQAM.

 Contexte

Le Dialogue nord-américain faisait partie d’une série d’événements organisés dans le cadre du Programme de travail conjoint de l’UNESCO-SCDB (https://www.cbd.int/lbcd/) pour examiner le sens et les valeurs des liens entre la diversité biologique et culturelle au niveau régional et leurs implications pour trouver des solutions aux problèmes mondiaux auxquels l’humanité fait face (tels les changements climatiques, la désertification et l’utilisation non-durable des ressources naturelles).

La diversité culturelle, qui inclut la diversité linguistique, apporte à l’humanité la résilience nécessaire pour s’adapter aux changements. La diversité biologique contribue à la santé et à la résilience des écosystèmes dans des contextes de changement. Des approches interdisciplinaires et des perspectives systémiques qui prennent en considération et tirent parti des liens d’interdépendance entre les humains et la nature seront nécessaires pour répondre aux défis sociaux et environnementaux du monde contemporain.

Ainsi, il est urgent de renforcer le dialogue, la collaboration et les échanges entre différents systèmes de connaissances, secteurs, disciplines et échelles. Le Dialogue nord-américain a réuni des acteurs d’horizons diverses pour échanger des connaissances et examiner le sens et la valeur de la diversité biologique et culturelle au Canada et aux États-Unis. 

Partenaires

Le Centre pour la conservation et le développement autochtones alternatifs (CICADA)

CICADA comprend des représentants des nations d’Atikamekw, Cris Eeyou Istchee, Innus, Mitchikanibikok Inik, l’île algonquienne Walpole, Bande de Grand Traverse d’Ottawa et Chippewa, Cris Bigstone, St’at’imc, Hul’qumi’num, Kitkatla et Tsilhqot’in ainsi que le Cercle autochtone d’experts (CAE) en route pour l’objectif 1 du Canada – conservation 2020; Société pour la protection des parcs et des sites naturels du Canada; le Consortium des aires et territoires du patrimoine autochtone et communautaire (APAC); et chercheurs provenant de plus d’une douzaine milieux et domaines académiques à l’Université Concordia, Dartmouth College, Heritage University, Université McGill,  Université Laval, Université de Montréal, Université du Québec (Abitibi-Témiscamingue), University of British Columbia, University of Northern British Columbia, University of Saskatchewan, et University of Victoria. Le CICADA est un regroupement stratégique multidisciplinaire avec un siège situé à l’université McGill qui vise le potentiel conceptuel et pratique des “projets de vies” collectives des peuples autochtones pour générer des régimes innovants de la protection environnementale et des visions alternatives du développement. Le CICADA regroupe les projets et programmes de plus de soixante-dix membres réguliers et collaborateurs qui représentent une expérience approfondie de la recherche en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones à l’échelle mondiale. Pour plus d’informations: http://cicada.world

Programme conjoint UNESCO-SCBD sur Les liens entre la diversité biologique et culturelle

Reconnaissant l’importance des liens entre la diversité biologique et culturelle, le Programme conjoint entre l’UNESCO et le Secrétariat de la CBD (SCBD) a été développé à la Conférence internationale sur la diversité biologique et culturelle tenue à Montréal, au Canada, en 2010. En reconnaissant que la diversité biologique et la diversité culturelle sont non seulement étroitement imbriqués, mais, aussi qu’ils sont mutuellement renforçant, les objectifs principaux du programme sont de renforcer les liens entre les initiatives de la diversité biologique et culturelle, de favoriser le renforcement des capacités, et d’améliorer les synergies entre les provisions de conventions et programmes inter reliés qui traitent  la diversité biologique et culturelle à des échelles pertinentes. Pour plus d’informations: https://www.cbd.int/lbcd/about

La Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO

En collaboration avec ses membres et partenaires, l’équipe de La Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO souligne et exprime les sujets d’intérêt des Canadiens. Nos trois thèmes reflètent les priorités internationales de l’UNESCO et influencent tous les efforts au Canada et à l’échelle internationale.  Chaque thème comprend une série d’initiatives à mettre en œuvre par la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO et reflète les domaines d’action de nos réseaux.  Les thèmes sont: Construire des communautés inclusives; Encourager l’innovation; Protéger le patrimoine et la biosphère. Pour en savoir plus: https://fr.ccunesco.ca/

Le Centre de la science de la biodiversité du Québec

Les missions du CSBQ sont: 1) Favoriser et promouvoir une recherche et des programmes de formation de calibre international en science de la biodiversité; 2) Faciliter la coopération scientifique et l’apprentissage entre des groupes de recherche transdisciplinaires; 3) Adopter un rôle de premier plan pour les questions relatives à la science de la biodiversité et contribuer ainsi au débats, publics et académiques, sur les pertes de biodiversité. Le CSBQ regroupe plus de 120 chercheurs d’avant-garde tant au niveau national qu’international, au sein d’un partenariat entre 8 institutions académiques, une institution publique et un ministère fédéral : Bishop’s University, Concordia University, McGill University, Université de Montréal, Université du Québec à Montréal, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Université Laval, Université de Sherbrooke, le Jardin Botanique de Montréal et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Assemblé des premières nations (APN), Canada

Assemblé des premières nations (APN) est un organisme national de défense qui représente les concitoyens des Premières nations au Canada qui comprend plus de 900,000 personnes vivant dans 643 communautés des Premières nations et villes et localités à travers le pays. Pour en savoir plus: https://www.afn.ca/fr/a-propos-de-lapn/

Le Centre pour la biodiversité et la conservation (CBC) du Musée américain d’histoire naturelle

Le Musée américain d’histoire naturelle a créé le Centre pour la biodiversité et la conservation (CBC) en 1993 afin d’apporter ses ressources scientifiques et éducatives importantes à la conservation de la grande diversité de la vie sous toutes ses formes et de leurs interactions essentielles – la biodiversité de notre planète. Le CBC transforme les connaissances – provenant de sources et de perspectives diverses, et couvrant des domaines de recherche scientifique ainsi que les connaissances traditionnelles et locales – en actions de conservation. De plus amples informations sont disponibles à https://www.amnh.org/our-research/center-for-biodiversity-conservation.

Parcs Canada

Le mandat de Parcs Canada est de protéger et de mettre en valeur, au nom de la population canadienne, des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et de favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. De plus amples informations sont disponibles à: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/agence-agency/mandat-mandate.

Le Consortium des Aires et territoires du patrimoine autochtone et communautaire (APAC)

L’Association Consortium APAC a pour mission de promouvoir la reconnaissance et le support appropriés aux aires et territoires du patrimoine autochtone et communautaire (APAC) aux échelons local, national et international. Le Consortium APAC a été établi officiellement en Suisse en 2010 en tant qu’Association Internationale en vertu du Code Civil Suisse. Il s’agit d’une organisation de la société civile basée sur ses membres, soutenue par un Secrétariat international semi-volontaire, basé dans vingt-deux pays. De plus amples informations sont dispo

The First North American Dialogue on Biocultural Diversity

The First North American  Dialogue on Biocultural Diversity

5-8 May 2019, Montreal, Canada

The North American Dialogue on Biocultural Diversity took place from the 5th to the 8th of May 2019 in Montreal, Canada. The Dialogue aimed to promote exchange and co-creation of knowledge between different actors to contribute to better understandings of the interlinkages between biological and cultural dimensions of diversity, and the implications for resource management and decision-making processes. It also aimed to raise awareness and recognition regarding the role of indigenous languages and of local and indigenous knowledge and management systems, which provide the foundations for a rich and flourishing biocultural diversity.

The objectives of the North American Dialogue were to:

  • Identify links between biological and cultural diversity in the North American Region, as well as what interrupts these links, while identifying major drivers of biological and cultural diversity loss;
  • Identify solutions and good practices, actions and actors, at various levels to protect and restore biological and cultural diversity;
  • Explore synergies between interlinked provisions of the CBD and UNESCO Conventions on culture and nature, and the potential benefits of an integrated approach.  

Program

Documents

Documents for the dialogue are available at the following web page

Pictures

All photos can be found by following the link. Below are a few.

Venue

The North American Dialogue on Biocultural Diversity was held at Hôtel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montréal, at 1415 St-Hubert Street, Montreal.  The Gouverneur Hotel is centrally located by Berri-UQAM metro station.

Background

The North American Dialogue was part of a series of events organized within the framework of the UNESCO-SCBD Joint Programme of Work to explore the meaning and values of the links between biological and cultural diversity at the regional level and implications for solutions for global problems facing humanity (such as climate change, desertification, and unsustainable use of natural resources).

Cultural diversity, including linguistic diversity, provides humanity with resilience to adapt to changing times. Biological diversity contributes to ecosystem health and resilience in contexts of change. Addressing complex environmental and social challenges in today’s world will require interdisciplinary approaches and systems-level perspectives that recognize and build on the interlinkages between humans and nature.

As such, there is an urgent need to strengthen dialogue, collaboration, and exchange across multiple knowledge systems, sectors, disciplines, and scales. The North American Dialogue convened a range of actors to exchange knowledge and explore the meaning and value of biological and cultural diversity in Canada and the United States.

Partners

The Centre for Indigenous Conservation and Development Alternatives (CICADA)

CICADA includes representatives of Atikamekw, Eeyou Istchee Cree, Innu, Mitchikanibikok Inik, Walpole Island Algonquin, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa, Bigstone Cree, St’at’imc, Hul’qumi’num, Kitkatla and Tsilhqot’in nations; as well as the Indigenous Circle of Experts (ICE) for the Pathway to Canada Target 1 – Conservation 2020; the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society; the Indigenous Peoples and Community Conserved Areas and Territories (ICCA) Consortium; and researchers from more than a dozen academic disciplines and fields at Concordia University, Dartmouth College, Heritage University, McGill University, Université Laval, Université de Montréal, Université du Québec (Abitibi-Témiscamingue), University of British Columbia, University of Northern British Columbia, University of Saskatchewan, and University of Victoria.

CICADA is a multidisciplinary research centre with headquarters at McGill University that targets the conceptual and practical potential of indigenous peoples’ collective ‘life projects’ to generate innovative regimes of environmental protection and alternative visions of development. CICADA brings together the projects and programs of more than seventy regular members and collaborators, representing great depth of experience in partnered research with indigenous peoples globally. More information is available at http://cicada.world/

UNESCO-SCBD Joint Programme on the Links Between Biological and Cultural Diversity

Recognizing the importance of the links between biological and cultural diversity, the Joint Programme between UNESCO and the CBD Secretariat (SCBD) was developed at the International Conference on Biological and Cultural Diversity, held in Montreal, Canada in 2010. Acknowledging that biological and cultural diversity are not only closely interlinked but also mutually reinforcing, the key objective of the programme is to strengthen the linkages between biological and cultural diversity initiatives, foster capacity building, and enhance synergies between interlinked provisions of conventions and programmes dealing with biological and cultural diversity at relevant scales. More information is available at https://www.cbd.int/lbcd/about .

The Canadian Commission for UNESCO

In collaboration with its members and partners, the Canadian Commission for UNESCO team identifies and articulates topics of interest in Canada. Our three themes reflect UNESCO’s international priorities and shape all of our efforts in Canada and internationally. Each theme includes a series of initiatives to be implemented by CCUNESCO and reflects the action areas of our networks. The themes are: Building inclusive communities; Encouraging innovation; Protecting our heritage and the biosphere. More information is available at: https://en.ccunesco.ca/

The Quebec Centre for Biodiversity Sciences (QCBS) / Centre de la science de la biodiversité du Québec

The mission of the QCBS is: 1) to foster and promote a world-class research and training program in biodiversity science; 2) to facilitate scientific cooperation and learning among a cross-disciplinary group of researchers; and 3) to assume a lead role on biodiversity related issues and to contribute to the academic and public debate on biodiversity loss. The QCBS groups more than 120 researchers working at the forefront of the field both nationally and internationally, and represents a partnership between 12 universities and 4 collaborating organizations Bishop’s University, Concordia University, McGill University, Université de Montréal, Université du Québec à Montréal, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Université Laval, Université de Sherbrooke, INRS-institut Armand Frappier, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Université du Québec en Outaouais, TELUQ, the Montréal Botanical Garden, Biodôme de Montréal, Agriculture and Agri-food Canada.

Assembly of First Nations, Canada

The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is a national advocacy organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada, which includes more than 900,000 people living in 634 First Nation communities and in cities and towns across the country. More information is available at: http://www.afn.ca/about-afn/

The Center for Biodiversity and Conservation of the American Museum of Natural History

The American Museum of Natural History created the Center for Biodiversity and Conservation (CBC) in 1993 to contribute its extensive scientific and educational resources to the conservation of the great variety of life in all its forms and the essential interactions among them – our planet’s biodiversity.

The CBC transforms knowledge – from diverse sources and perspectives, and spanning areas of scientific research as well as traditional and local knowledge – into conservation action. More information is available at: https://www.amnh.org/our-research/center-for-biodiversity-conservation.

Parks Canada

The mandate of Parks Canada is to protect and present, on behalf of the people of Canada, nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations. More information is available at: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/agence-agency/mandat-mandate.

The Indigenous Peoples’ and Local Community Conserved Areas and Territories (ICCA) Consortium

The Association ICCA Consortium is established to promote the appropriate recognition of, and support to, indigenous peoples’ and community conserved areas and territories (ICCAs) at local, national and international levels. The ICCA Consortium was officially established in Switzerland in 2010 as an International Association under the Swiss Civil Code. It is a membership-based civil society organisation supported by an international semi-volunteer Secretariat based in twenty-two countries. More information is available here: https://www.iccaconsortium.org/.